Birthday + Moving Out!

I missed posting last week! Real life has been keeping me busy, and February has always been a special time of the year for us. My brother Joey and I celebrate our birthdays on this month, and he and I bonded over trying to find ways to celebrate together. While this blog is mostly craft-centric, allow me to share a slice of real life every once in a while. ^^;;

According to WordPress, I’ve had this blog for four years, so I started it when I was eighteen and was pretty young and impressionable. Time flies by so fast! It’s another birthday for me, and I’m pretty old. D:

We usually celebrate our birthdays pretty simply; we just like to eat out as a family. That day my mother was out in the province so I went out with my brother and sister instead

We had sundaes for snack at Iceberg’s, dinner at Adobo Connection (which we are regulars in) and bringing home cupcakes from Lovin’ Oven.

 photo birthday_sundae_zps20f320b4.jpg

We all picked our respective desserts–my sister got a Mango and Flan Halo-Halo, I got the Kahlua Double Espresso,and my bro got a Strawberry-Banana Crepe. My sister says all our choices are “so us” meaning they talk a lot about our personality and as siblings we can probably safely have wagered that one would order that before they even did.

I found the Kahlua Double Espresso quite meh and not tasting much of coffee. I like my coffee strong.

 photo birthday_adobo_zps4a6c93e9.jpg

I’ve already made a post about our trips to Adobo Connection, and since we love it there we got dinner there as well. Their food is just all about typical Filipino breakfast-comfort food–fried rice and eggs and all. I love breakfast food, so eating here makes me feel good.

My brother also surprised me and gave me a pretty cool gift! More on it later!

 photo birthday_cupcakes_zps6ad392c3.jpg

Cupcakes from a little kiosk in SM Fairview called Lovin’ Oven. My brother and I dropped by before and met a woman who reminded me a  lot of my mum–she was the mum of the baker/owner of the shop. Real friendly and genuine too. The shop is a home-baking business, so it’s always nice to buy something made at home, with love, straight from the creators/owners. The cupcakes tasted great so we came back for more. My favorite flavor is the Smores one so far!

 photo kidthecat1_zpsb4decefd.jpg

Early in February, my brother and I got an unexpected “gift” too. This is our kitty, who I dubbed “Kid Cathston”. We sorta just found her one evening when bro and I were alone at home and I kept hearing mewing outside our house. I feared that there was a kitty stuck/wounded by the drainage canals near our house, but it turned out she was stuck in between my mum’s potted thorny plants and couldn’t move, so we picked her up and let her in and gave her water and fed her. We had to let her go out in the evening when mum came back, but the next day she kinda stayed by our door and darted right in the house and refused to go out again. So she kinda forced us to adopt her, to be honest. xD

 photo kidthecatxcuplies_zpsec79343b.jpg

We’ve also moved houses due to our real house needing to be demolished to be reconstructed anew. It’s pretty crazy, but yes, we took the cat with us. I now have a new office/room to myself due to that though. It’s still pretty messy for me to take photos and show everyone; even now I have materials and fabric and stuff pretty much scattered. D:

 photo nendoclay_zps03253cce.jpg

For hauls… I’m not really sure if me buying clay and craft materials should still be considered a “haul”, lol. xD They’re more or less investments for me. I got two big boxes full of clay from Nendo. Most of them were colors I had running out.

 photo nendopixiedust_zpsa9318e9a.jpg

I also got free fifteen bottles of Nendo’s own series of metallic powder, called “Pixie Dust”. I’ve tried mixing them in resin, and they’re pretty good  for that job. Pearl-Ex has better pigmentation and metallic power though if you mean to apply them directly to clay. I haven’t tried using all the colors though, so I still have to form a proper opinion.

 photo kidthecatxawakening_zpscd9f1874.jpg

As for my gift to my brother… I bought him Fire Emblem: Awakening! I’ve already cosplayed Tiki and Anna from this game but haven’t played it yet, but we’re big fans of the entire Fire Emblem series. We had a hard time getting a game though, as my brother’s 3DS is from Europe, and we live in Asia! They don’t sell PAL/Europe games here, so I finally decided to order this online. Now my productivity is reduced by 200% and hours are spent trying to decide who to marry and who will marry who.

 photo petticoat1_zps1f4f581c.jpg

To remind myself that I’ve actually done something productive, I made this petticoat out of cocofiber a few days ago. It’s not as poofy as it could be as this is only 1.5x my waistline (ideally it should be 3x for a certified poof) but I may edit it when I buy more fabric. Cocofiber is pretty stiff so it holds a poof despite my lack of volume put into it. I also designed it to have three layers of all varying sizes for some reason. And there is Kid refusing to let me take photos without her. xD

Now… as for my brother’s gift. He decided to buy a domain/website for this blog and my business, which is threesmittenkittens.com! We’ll be moving to their pretty soon! I’ll announce when it’s fully up-and-running soon, and may come up with a craft giveaway by then! We’ll be having some crafting supplies coming in very soon, some of which are very hard to find/can’t be bought in the Philippines, so I hope to make a blog/shop of the new website soon. ^^

Next week I hope to come up and post something helpful again! I hope you all have a grand day.

xoxo Aki / kageshoujo

2 thoughts on “Birthday + Moving Out!

Leave a comment