Food Review : Selecta’s Caramel Cheesecake Ice Cream

Have you tried Selecta Ice Cream’s Gold Series, the Creamy Cheesecake flavor? Picked up a small 100ml cup of it at the grocer just to try it. The people closest to me know that aside from ice cream, cheesecakes are part of my favorite desserts (and vices). And I don’t mean those cheese cakes you get from Lemon Square. Those are cupcakes with a (probably) cheddar cheese flavor. I mean the authentic cheesecakes made from cream cheese and sour cream or yogurt. So with my love for cheesecakes and ice cream, I decided to pick up the cheesecake-flavored ice-cream.

It was meh. I adored the chunks of cheesecake in it but I found that I’d rather eat a whole cheesecake or grab another more full-flavored ice cream. I found it very mild, and being used to strong, fuller flavors, it wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. The cheesecake bits in it are just divine, though, but eating the ice cream really just made me want to eat a whole cheesecake instead, so that sudden craving for something else that the ice cream made me feel made me discontent with it. There’s something about the ice cream and the cheesecakes that don’t meld together so well.

My sis loves the Brownie Temptation flavor from the Selecta Gold Series, and A loved the Chocolate Truffles flavor. Maybe grab those instead. As for me, I’d still prefer Pistachio or Coffee Almond Cookies or a whole cheesecake to this any day.

PS: Wrote this a while back, just decided to upload it because recently Selecta made a TV commercial for this product.

Leave a comment