Spending Mom’s Day at Manggan.

Last mom’s day was fun-filled and happy for us. We heard the noon sermon at church and had dinner at native Filipino restaurant, Manggan. It was my sister’s choice and part chosen because my mom loves native food. I’m sharing the spoils here.

My mum, on the bus trip towards our destination.

We three siblings. When you put us next to each other like this, it’s clear how we look alike.

Manggan is an obviously-Filipino place with paintings all over of prominent Filipino personalities like former presidents, and they have a Sorbetes (dirty ice cream) cart as decor, and the place was lined with books. We got seated and ordered.

You can’t talk about Filipino “merienda” food without having Lumpiang Sariwa (fresh spring rolls). I love love this.

The Lumpiang Sariwa, upon destruction. Or opening. It has random fresh veggies, chickpeas, lettuce, and has a sweet-savory sauce. This gets my thumbs up.

Fried Chicken. We all had second thoughts about this. Sis couldn’t decide what meat to order, and so we fell back to the usual fried chicken, which we’ve all must’ve had a hundred times. This one is fried Filipino style–no breadings, but heavily seasoned. There’s a strong scent to it that makes it not need any sauce or gravy. But it’s served with the Filipino staple, banana ketchup.

Sinigang the Bangus sa Miso. (I will roughly translate it as “some fish stewed in miso.” XD) This one has the strong, sour taste of Sinigang that should be there, and sipping on the soup is a delicious experience. The fish chunks taste wonderful, too, and are very soft.

And we all ordered it with Java Rice. The restaurant doesn’t offer many meals with rice included in them, so it’s a downer how you have to order your rice separately.

My mum. And here you see the interiors of the restaurant.

My mum is an epitome of greatness. ❤

The food was great, and tasted fine enough. I highly recommend the Lumpiang Sariwa, that was my favorite, but I may be biased, since it’s one of my favorite foodstuffs. I can’t say the same for the chicken since I feel it’s pretty expensive for its cost and can only be shared by two people (or three, if you don’t eat as much, like we do). The Sinigang is a toss-up. If you love sour broth-soup stuff, it’s a good option. I know some people dislike sour foods, and this one is pretty sour. But in a good way. I also want to note that the food is kinda-sorta expensive, and as I said, doesn’t come with free rice, and you have to order rice ala carte, and it’s P42 per person.

To cap off our meal my bro, Joey (who took all out wonderful photos) went and got some DQ Blizzards.

Joey got the Strawberry Oreo flavor, while I got the Oreo Cheesecake one. The cheesecake bits made my day.

And we all took the trip home, stuffed and filled with food and love. ❤

Leave a comment